Data models in Bipp are stored as project files created using the Bling language. These project files can be accessed through the “Projects” menu option in the Bipp product menu. Clicking on this option loads the “Projects” screen which has options to create a new project and edit, delete or manage permissions for existing projects.
In order to create a new project or data model, users should click the “New project” button available at the top-right of the screen. The user will be requested to enter the project name on a pop-up screen.
The new project would be added to the projects list on the main screen on click of the “Create” button.
Users have an option to create the project in their own Git repository, by providing the details of the repository. If they do not have a repository, a repository will be created for them on the Bipp Git server.
Defining the Model
Users can define a new data model or edit an existing data model, by using the “Edit” option from the options menu at the right of the project name. For new projects, a blank data model file with help on Bling syntax will be shown.
Linking to a Datasource
In order to start creating a data model, the project must be linked to at least one of the existing datasource created using the Datasources feature. The default model would then be created based on the tables from the linked datasource. Users can link datasources to a project by clicking on the “Add Table View” button at the top-left of the screen. This will navigate the user to the “Add Table View” screen. Users can now select datasources and tables that need to be added to the model. In case there are many tables in the source database, the “Search tables” feature may be used to search for specific tables. On selecting the required tables, the “Add Table View” button may be clicked to add the selected tables to the model.
Bling syntax corresponding to the selected tables will now be added to the data model file. This may be edited depending on the requirements of the model. For more information on using Bling to edit the data model, refer to the Bling Specification.
Project File Version Control
Bipp provides Git like features for version control of project files. Following are the features included
- Share: Project files may be shared with other members in the user’s Bipp network using the “Share” button.
- Branches: Project files may be edited in users own branch or in the Master branch. Branch may be selected using the “Branch” dropdown which points to the “master” branch by default.
- Version: User can revert to a previous version of the file by selecting the correct version from the “Version” dropdown and committing this version as the latest version.
- Save: Project files may be saved intermittently without committing the changes to the respective branch using the “Save” button. Successful save does not require the code in the file to be syntactically correct.
- Commit: Project files may be committed and pushed to the respective branch if they compile successfully using the “Commit” button. Clicking on “Commit” will automatically trigger a syntax check on the file.
- Compare: Current version of the file may be compared to the previous version by clicking on the “Version” button.
Sheets for visualizing data may be created based on the data model using the “Sheets” feature. (Refer Sheets documentation). When a sheet is created, it always refers to the latest version of the data model at the time of sheet creation. If the data model is subsequently edited, the sheet would continue to refer to the previous version, until the sheets version is manually updated by using the “Change Sheets Version” button on the project screen. Using this feature, the sheets version may be changed to the latest version of the data model or any other specific version.
Projects may be shared from the Project edit screen or from the projects listing screen. To share a project from the projects listing screen, click on the “Permissions” menu option from the options menu at the right of the project name.
Projects may be shared with co-workers by providing their email-id’s on the permission screen.
Permissions may be categorized as Admin, Read and Write or Read Only similar to Datasource permissions.
Users can delete an existing project or data model using the “Delete” option on the project options menu. The project will be deleted after confirmation.